My favorite drink to wake up to

I have been a coffee drinker since high school. Even at a young age, the sound of the coffee maker and the sound of the alarm clock went hand in hand for me. I’ve always been slow to get going and, when I first discovered coffee, it was just the jolt that I needed. As high school gave way to college, and eventually to a career, my coffee drinking changed. I soon became a part of the Starbucks crowd. It was delicious, and they had so many more options.

Soon, coffee turned into Slim Mocha with steamed milk, Iced Chai Latte, and eventually espresso. I soon realized that espresso would wake me up faster than coffee ever did! I went from being a passable person in the morning, to someone that all my coworkers described as a morning person. The change was undeniable, and I felt certain that it was the espresso.

chai latte

Sadly, I realized my morning stop at Starbucks for an espresso, despite its perks, was a drain on my bank account. I was spending 30 dollars a week just on my morning beverages (A latte with a shot of espresso). I figured there must be a way I could do it more effectively. I had a coffeemaker at home and fired it back up. This part was simple. But I was still missing the extra jolt I got from my morning espresso shots. This was my big conundrum.

I had read all of the reviews, and most of what I read indicated that I would be getting an inferior product if I didn’t spend big money, and the whole reason I was doing this was to get out of spending money in the morning. Luckily, I saw some of the silly ads with Clooney and Devito for Nespresso. I’m not easily convinced by commercials, but it did make me aware of a brand I hadn’t looked into.

My next step was go to my grandmother. Grandmas know people in their retirement community that own almost everything ever advertised on television. Sure enough she had a neighbor with a Nespresso, who spoke very highly of it. Next time I went over for dinner at Grandma’s house, we stopped by her friend’s house for some after dinner coffee. The espresso maker got turned on, and my mind was blown. Espresso from this machine was every bit as good as what I was paying top dollar for at Starbucks.

When I did some more research, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I could buy it for only a couple hundred dollars. While no nominal fee, this was much cheaper than any of the luxury, top espresso makers I had previously perused. In the end, I bought this brand new espresso maker. I’ve saved over 1,000 dollars over the last 18 months, just by cutting out my daily trip to Starbucks. It saves me time, money, and I get to start sipping on my hot beverage before I even leave the house. I now love my espresso maker and have gotten many of my friends to join the espresso at home revolution.

 

